Criminal Defense Attorneys in Pennsylvania must be experienced enough to handle all types of crimes. Pennsylvania Criminal law categorizes criminal offenses in three tiers based on the seriousness of the crime. The lowest offense are the Summary offense. The highest are the Felony Offenses. Right in the middle are your Misdemeanors.
Within the grading of Misdemeanor, there are three different levels of severity, Misdemeanors in the First, Second or Third Degree. Misdemeanors in the First Degree come with a harsher punishment than Misdemeanors in the Second or Third Degree.
If you are charged with a crime that is graded as a Misdemeanor First, and you are convicted, Pennsylvania Consolidated Statute 18 PA.C.S. 106 and 18 PA.C.S. 1104 says you will serve up to five years in prison. Additionally, 18 PA.C.S. 1101 provides the court with the power to assess up to a $10,000.00 fine.
If you are charged and convicted of a Misdemeanor Second, you will be looking at up to 2 years in prison and a $5,000.00 fine.
Finally, the lowest Misdemeanor is a Misdemeanor of the Third Degree. This level of conviction will bring up to a year in prison and a fine of $2,500.00.
Common Misdemeanors are:
If you have been charged with a Misdemeanor, it is important to contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible. Your first opportunity to fight the charges will be at your preliminary hearing. If you are able to get the case disposed of at that level, it will save you a lot of time and money.
Give me a call at (412) 209-0657 and ask for Matthew Becker. I will sit down with you for a no-obligation consultation.